A Roman Room: 1900-1910

1900-1910

Today I’m stretching my use of the word “code” to include memory hacks.

There exists a memory technique called the Roman Room, or Method of Loci, in which you associate information you want to remember with specific places in a house or building you know. For anyone who has better recall on spacial data or visual imagery, it’s ideal. That’s me in a nutshell.

With Blender, I’ve come to the realization that my Roman rooms can exist in a 3 dimensional space, readily accessible on my computer when I want a refresher. So I’m modelling out a 20th Century house, starting with a lobby decked out in events from 1900-1910. These ones to start.

Timeline

1900:

William McKinley is reelected to office with Vice-President Theodore Roosevelt.
The Wizard of Oz is published.

1901:

Queen Victoria died at age of 81.
Theodore Roosevelt takes office after William McKinley’s assassination.

1902:

Georges Méliès releases A Trip to the Moon in France, widely recognized as the first science fiction film.

1903:

The Wright Brothers fly at Kitty Hawk.
Pierre Curie, Marie Curie, and Henri Becquerel receive the Nobel Prize in Physics for research into radiation.

1905:

John P. Harris and Harry Davis open a theater called “Nickelodeon” which charged 5 cents for short films in Pittsburgh.
Einstein published “On the Electrodynamics of Moving Bodies” on special relativity.

1906:

San Francisco is struck by a 7.9 magnitude earthquake.

1907:

Picasso paints Les Demoiselles d’Avignon.

1908:

Ford produces the Model T.

A Tour

Until I figure out how to load a 3D scene into WordPress, I’m stuck with stills. Ruby slippers next to a toy sized Nickelodeon. A giant crack in the yellow brick floor beside a Model T with the Wright Flyer gliding above.

It’s a start, at least, for an interesting decade. More rooms to come.

1900: The Wizard of Oz

1900-1910

1900-1910

1900-1910

2 Replies to “A Roman Room: 1900-1910”

Leave a comment